Marketing & Communication Department?

I love PR (public relations)

Image by JerrySilfwer via Flickr

Last week I visited a major bank. They guided me through their building and suddenly I noticed a sign: “Marketing & Communication” it said.

Those things puzzle me and make me feel sad. Don’t I understand or don’t they understand? How in heavens name can the manager of that department allow to have such a department in the first place. D

oes he or she know what marketing really is? I wonder.

Communication is a major part of marketing. It is one of the 4 P’s since before I was born (which is a long time ago, believe me). Most of my students who take Marketing 101 took it because they thought that’s what marketing is all about! So what does marketing do in that bank? Product management? Pricing? Distribution? Market/marketing intelligence?

Even David Meerman Scott adds to the confusion with the title of his latest book “The new rules of marketing & PR” And PR??? Since when isn’t PR a part of marketing David?

I urge every real marketeer to explain what marketing really is. Marketing as a business concept and marketing as a business activity. Developing value (goods/services), pricing it, selecting the best way for customers to acquire it and communicating with customers and prospects about the value created.

Gert-Jan Scheers

1 Response to “Marketing & Communication Department?”


  1. 1 Hans Breuker November 25, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Thank you. This is exactly head on. Please keep sending this out message. Al those poor marketing communication employees. If they would approach it philosophical, they would feel like a dog chasing his own tail!


Leave a Reply

